鲍景超

在创立时务英语服务前,鲍景超是 IBM 公司的全球化架构和科技总监。他负责订定全公司的软件和硬件的基本架构和技术模块的选定,使 IBM 产品能支持 50 多个语言和应用於 150 多个地域和不同的文化。他同时负责 IBM 产品翻译的管理工具和多国语言分析模块的开发。他在2006 年推动 IBM 的软件全球化顾问服务,以 IBM 数十年产品全球化的经验帮助顾客提升他们的应用软件以支持他们开展国际业务。他是这顾问服务的技术骨干,领导了在美国、中国和欧洲多个项目。

他在 1989 年在新加坡加入 Lotus Development Corporation (IBM 在 1995 年收购了 Lotus Development Corporation) ,先后成立和管理在新加坡、台北、首尔、和北京的本土化和翻译中心。他并於 1994 年在北京成立了一个开发中心和一个品质工程中心,承包了美国开发团队的一些项目。创立外国软件公司在中国开发和测试英语软件的先河。他在 1995 年迁到波士顿任职国际产品管理总监,在 2000 年改任全 IBM 的全球化架构和科技总监。

在 Lotus 以前,他为 Cullinet Software, Inc 在新加坡创立了亚太区开发中心,并担任总监。在搬到新加坡加盟 Cullinet 前,他在香港为 Data General Corporation 服务,担任多个亚洲区管理职位,包括资料管理、系统工程及市场推广。

他常在各地研讨会讲述软件国际化和相关题材。他在 2007 年在北京的 LISA (Localization Industry Standards Association) 研讨大会发表有关中译英的挑战被当选为全场最佳演说。

他拥有美国德州休士顿 Rice University 的电机工程学士及硕士学位。

Charles Pau

Before founding C5 English Services, Charles Pau was Director of Globalization Architecture and Technology at IBM, where he was responsible for defining the overall software and hardware architecture and selecting the technology components that allow IBM products to support over 50 languages and work in over 150 regions and cultures. He was also responsible for the development of IBM internal translation management tools and a set of components for linguistic analytics. He was the driving force behind the creation of the IBM Software Globalization Service. The Service, launched in 2006, was designed to use IBM’s extensive experience to assist IBM customers enhance their applications to support international expansions. As a key member of the Service, he led several engagements in U.S.A., China, and Europe.

He joined Lotus Development Corporation (which was acquired by IBM in 1995) in Singapore in 1989 where he established and managed software localization and translation centers in Singapore, Taipei, Seoul, and Beijing. In 1994 he established a development center and a quality engineering center for Lotus in Beijing to serve the product development teams in the United States. He moved to the Boston area in 1995 as Director of International Product Management, a position he held until 2000 when he became the Director of Globalization Architecture and Technology for all of IBM.

Prior to Lotus, he established the Asia-Pacific Development Centre for Cullinet Software, Inc, and served as its director. Before moving to Singapore to assume that position, he held several regional management positions for Data General Corporation in Hong Kong, including MIS, Systems Engineering, and Marketing.

He is frequent speakers at conferences on the various aspects of software globalization. His keynote address at the LISA (Localization Industry Standards Association) Conference in Beijing in 2007 on the challenges of translating Chinese materials into English was voted the best presentation of the conference.

He holds a B.S. in Electrical Engineering and a M.S. from Rice University in Houston, Texas, U.S.A.